ASAE Announces McEwen, Mills, Pietranton Receive Highest Individual Honors for Exceptional Leadership

June 25, 2018

WASHINGTON, DC— ASAE will bestow Arlene A. Pietranton, PhD, CAE, FASAE, CEO of American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, with this year’s Key Award. In addition, Cynthia Mills, FASAE, CAE, CMC, CPC, CCRC, Founder, President and CEO of The Leaders' Haven, LLC, will be presented with the Academy of Leaders Award; and Janet McEwen, M.A., CAE, Director of Corporate Relations at the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, will receive the Professional Performance Award.

“Congratulations to this year’s winners! They are great stewards of the association community because of their dedication to advancing the profession, volunteering, mentoring, as well as inspiring others to succeed,” said Kerry Stackpole, FASAE CAE, CEO and Executive Director at Plumbing Manufacturers International and chair of the 2018 Awards & Recognition Committee. 
Arlene Pietranton is the 69th recipient of the Key Award, which is presented to association chief staff executive who demonstrates exceptional qualities of leadership in their association and displays a deep commitment to voluntary membership organizations. Arlene was a member of ASAE’s Board of Directors from 2008-2015, and she served as ASAE Foundation Chair in 2012–2013 and board chair in 2013-2014. Since 2004, she has been a member of the Key Professional Association Committee (KPAC). She’s working on the Centennial Task Force (2016 - present) and Power of A Committee. She became a Fellow in 2010 and served on the Fellows Selection Committee (2010-2013).
Cynthia Mills is the 31st recipient of the Academy of Leaders Award. It’s given to industry partners who have demonstrated exemplary support of ASAE and the entire association community. Cynthia has been an ASAE member since 1990. She has been active on several committees including: Membership (1991-1995), Key Philanthropic Organizations Committee (1995-1998), and the Marketing Section Council (1999-2000; Board Liaison 2000-2001). She served on ASAE’s Board of Directors (2000-2005) and the Executive Committee (2003-2005), and ASAE Business Services Inc. Board of Directors (2011-2014). She became a Fellow in 2002 and served as Fellows Vice Chair (2005-2006) and Fellows Chair (2006-2007). She’s also a member of Association Executives of North Carolina and member and Past President of the Georgia Society of Association Executives. 

Janet McEwen is the 44th recipient of ASAE’s Professional Performance Award. It recognizes invaluable contributions made by association executives who are at the top level within their organizations but are not CEOs. Janet has served on the ASAE Meetings & Expositions Section Council since 2011, and she served as chair in 2015-2016. She was also a member of the Ethics and CAE Exam Committee (2006-2008). And, she volunteered for the New Mexico Society of Association Executives on the program committee. 

The awards will be presented at the 2018 ASAE Annual Meeting & Exposition, August 18–21, in Chicago.  

MEDIA CONTACT: Sabrina Kidwai, APR, CAE,, 202-326-9505.

About ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership 
ASAE is a membership organization of more than 40,000 association executives and industry partners representing 7,200 organizations. Its members manage leading trade associations, individual membership societies and voluntary organizations across the United States and in nearly 50 countries around the world. With support of the ASAE Foundation, a separate nonprofit entity, ASAE is the premier source of learning, knowledge and future-oriented research for the association and nonprofit profession, and provides resources, education, ideas and advocacy to enhance the power and performance of the association and nonprofit community. For more information about ASAE, visit