Nominees for ASAE and ASAE Foundation Board of Directors Announced

June 6, 2016

WASHINGTON, DC — The Leadership Committee of ASAE and the ASAE Foundation has identified the selected nominees to serve on the ASAE and the ASAE Foundation Boards of Directors for Fiscal Year 2017 (FY17), which begins September 1, 2016.

The Leadership Committee develops a pool of candidates for board service that best exemplifies ASAE’s membership profile and is representative of the organization’s diversity—including geography, size, gender, ethnicity, skill sets, and areas of experience. This year’s committee is chaired by Immediate Past Chair of ASAE Susan K. Neely, CAE, President and CEO of the American Beverage Association.

“With all the nominations for this year’s board, the Leadership Committee worked hard to ensure there was a balance of representation. We appreciate their commitment and service in assembling a group of leaders who will help advance the association profession and increase the visibility of how associations contribute to society on a domestic and global scale,” said ASAE Chair Abe Eshkenazi, CSCP, FACHE, CPA, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of APICS.

The list of nominees are:

Scott D. Wiley, FASAE, CAE, President & CEO, Ohio Society of CPAs, Columbus, OH, will become the Chair of the ASAE Board.

Matthew R. Shay, CAE, President & CEO, National Retail Federation, Washington, DC, will become Chair-Elect and Chair of the ASAE Foundation.

Sal Martino, CAE, Chief Executive Officer, American Society of Radiologic Technologists, Albuquerque, NM, will be the new Secretary-Treasurer.

The committee nominated the following individuals for the FY17 Boards. All “At Large” Directors are ASAE Board members and two of the four will also serve on the ASAE Foundation Board.

Directors “At Large” (three-year term)

Steven C. Anderson, IOM, CAE
President and Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Chain Drug Stores Inc.
Arlington, VA

Debra S. BenAvram, FASAE, CAE
American Society for Parenteral & Enteral Nutrition
Silver Spring, MD
(ASAE and ASAE Foundation)

Vicki Deal-Williams, MA, FASAE, CAE
Chief Staff Officer for Multicultural Affairs
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Rockville, MD

Matt Loeb, FASAE, CAE
Rolling Meadows, IL
(ASAE and ASAE Foundation)

The new board will be officially installed and join the remaining board members at the 2016 ASAE Annual Meeting & Exposition, August 13–16, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

ASAE Bylaws provide the opportunity for additional nominees to be proposed through a petition process. Should any member be proposed by petition, the petition should contain the signatures of at least 2.5% of the ASAE voting membership (570) and should be received at ASAE Headquarters no later than July 6, 2016, to the attention of Susan K. Neely, CAE, Chair of the Leadership Committee.

MEDIA CONTACT: Sabrina Kidwai, APR, CAE, 202-326-9505.

About ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership
ASAE is a membership organization of more than 21,000 association executives and industry partners representing 9,300 organizations. Its members manage leading trade associations, individual membership societies and voluntary organizations across the United States and in nearly 50 countries around the world. With support of the ASAE Foundation, a separate nonprofit entity, ASAE is the premier source of learning, knowledge and future-oriented research for the association and nonprofit profession, and provides resources, education, ideas and advocacy to enhance the power and performance of the association and nonprofit community. For more information about ASAE, visit